But Wait! You Haven’t Heard the Whole Story!

I love movies, mostly because I love stories.  I love good stories and bad stories.  Sometimes, the worse the movie is, the more I love it.  B horror movies are a special love of mine.  The more overdone the gore and the acting, the more I love it.

I do also love more mainstream movies.  Take Avatar, quite possibly one of the best movies ever.  Not just because of the 3D or the beautiful world James Cameron created, but also just because I loved the story.  I know it was a little cookie cutter, but let’s be honest… most stories (books and movies) follow at least somewhat of a formula.  I haven’t met very many of either that really surprise me.  And I’m okay with that because I love suspending disbelief.  It’s an act of will for me.

What I don’t like about Avatar is that it’s going to be re-released about a million times.  Today, the Avatar edition with the deleted scenes is going to be released.  Now, I already bought the original Avatar.  Now I’m going to buy the one with the deleted scenes.  I saw that version in the theater when they re-released it, and I honestly don’t understand why they cut those scenes out.  Probably just so they could release it a million times.  There’s no date set for the 3D version, but I have to wonder how many times that’s going to be released.

It aggravates me almost as much as books and movies that have a “hanging” ending.  Tell the story!  Tell it the first time in its entirety.  Books don’t re-release with cut scenes.  Can you imagine Harry Potter this way?  Imagine that Harry Potter was released, and 6 months later, JK Rowling released a deleted scene.  I’d buy it; I’ll admit it.  But I’d be irritated, wondering why they didn’t tell the story right the first time.

I know it’s a marketing ploy to make more money, and I fall for it.  I want the whole story.  I crave knowledge.  Which is part of the reason that I the cashier at Barnes and Noble practically rubs her hands together when she sees me coming.  I’m an addict when it comes to stories and articles of a certain type.

So, you’re welcome, Mr. Cameron.  Because I know over two billion dollars wasn’t quite enough.  You need another $25 from me.

One comment on “But Wait! You Haven’t Heard the Whole Story!

  1. one can argue that it can go both ways

Leave a comment