Time Flies… Please Come Back!

I’m just not good at keeping schedules on my own.  When I was younger, I was one of those people who always had trouble getting to work on time.  I was usually something like two minutes late or just getting there as I was due.  Lucky for me that I only held one job that would have fired me for that, and even they were lenient with me.

These days, I do much better at getting to work on time.  I’m usually at least 15 minutes early, sometimes more.  However, I’m not very good about keeping to a schedule on my days off.  I think about it.  I want to.  But other things always seem to come up.

This means that while on “work” days, I manage to exercise, pack my lunch, write my blog (well, mostly), play with the dogs, and eat breakfast (not in that order), on my days off, I manage to… well… surf the internet, read books, cook some stuff, and do dishes.  I have a hard time finding time to write, even though it’s right there.  I also have trouble getting everything done that I want to.

I keep doing things like writing myself schedules or swearing to be more disciplined.  I don’t need to make time to do what I want.  It’s there; I’m just not using my time efficiently.

I know this doesn’t sound related, but stay with me.  I’ve failed at a lot of diets over the years.  I’ve gone on them, then off them when they didn’t work.  So far, I’ve managed for the past two months to make a “lifestyle change.”  I have not gone on a diet.  There are no forbidden foods.  I’m just eating a whole lot more veggies and a whole lot less processed food.  I’m happier, have more energy, and have lost some weight.

So, I’ve decided that I’m no longer going to try to “get organized” or make myself a schedule.  There’s no “falling off the wagon” that way.  I’m going to try to incorporate one hour a day of writing (on my days off).  Maybe I’ll go with a more realistic 15 minutes a day on my work days to start.  It doesn’t have to be all at once.  If I miss some days, no recriminations, no problem.  Just try to do it the next day.  And if that doesn’t work, I’ll have to ask myself why.

So now you know why I don’t post every day.  I’m sorry!  I mean to.  I usually have ideas. I just never quite get around to writing them down.

I don’t do well with limits.  I’m not much of a sweet eater, but if you tell me I can’t have chocolate cake, that’s all I’ll crave.  It’s the same thing with the schedule.  By putting so much focus on what I “have to do,” I forgot that I tried to create a schedule because it’s all stuff I want to do.  Okay, not the dishes.  Or the cooking.  But you get the idea.

I’ll let you know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

