Interview with Janet Evanovich

I’ve heard a lot about Janet Evanovich’s series featuring New Jersey bounty hunter Stephanie Plum. I’m going to confess. I tried to read one of these books once, and it didn’t hold my interest. I started in the middle of the series, so that may have had something to do with it. I keep thinking that I need to give the series another chance, especially since I’ve read other books of hers and liked them.

Yesterday, NPR had an interview with Janet Evanovich, and it made me want to give the series another chance even more. She presents as plucky, warm, and down to earth, the type of author I’d love to have a cup of coffee with. She talked about how she likes to go to bars and coffee shops and eavesdrop on other people’s conversations, an occasional creativity booster for any author.

The Stephanie Plum series is 18 novels long, and all have their number in the title. Her first in the series, One for the Money, is coming out January 27, 2012, starring Katherine Hegl in the lead role. The first book is back on my “to read” list, and I want to make sure I give it another try before the movie comes out. If any of you out there read the series, please feel free to weigh in!

Here’s a link to the NPR interview.

http://www.npr.org/tablet/#story/?storyId=143795313

Leave a Reply

