Jane Eyre’s Newest Movie

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte is one of my all time favorite books.  It’s not a book that I read the whole thing every time, but I do tend to re-read parts of it.  The best parts, in my opinion.

Apparently I’m not the only Jane Eyre fan, as a new movie version of it came out earlier this year, starring Mia Wasikowska, Michael Fassbender, and Judy Dench.  I have to say, I loved Mia Wasikowska in Alice in Wonderland, and she didn’t disappoint.  She did a great job of playing the understated passion of Jane.

That being said, the dialog isn’t verbatim to the book, even in some of the places I thought it should be.  As a reader, I’m one of those people who would far prefer that important dialog be done verbatim (or close to it) from the book.  They’re classics for a reason, people!!

All in all, I think it’s worth watching, but not worth buying.  I enjoyed it, but probably will not be compelled to watch it again.  The passion didn’t sizzle off the page the way it does in the book.

Leave a Reply

