I Believe in Santa Claus

I love the Christmas season.  I love Christmas lights, Christmas music, Christmas presents, and the Christmas spirit.  I love old Christmas movies.  I think that true Christmas spirit is the best thing about the season; the spirit of giving and generosity that’s supposed to surround the season.  In the hustle and bustle, it’s easy to forget why we celebrate holidays at all.  We don’t celebrate as a way to torture ourselves, cause more stress and aggravation. The idea behind the celebration is that we enjoy it.

I was a kid the first time I read “Yes Virginia, There is a Santa Claus.”  This letter from 1897 is the quintessential letter about that Christmas spirit.  If you’ve read it before, it’s worth reading again.  If you’ve never read it, now’s the perfect time.

It doesn’t matter how old I am.  I’ll never stop believing in Santa Claus.

http://www.newseum.org/yesvirginia/

3 comments on “I Believe in Santa Claus

  1. of course there is a Santa Claus!! 🙂 Amidst the insanity of the holiday season…. deep down inside, I love the giving. I love the looks on my loved ones faces when they open their presents.

    Thanks for a heart warming post, Doree. 😀

  2. Darrie says:

    I’am also a believer. No matter which physical shape he is in 🙂
    http://i-drew-something.blogspot.com/2011/12/who-is-more-likely-to-be-santa-claus.html

Leave a Reply

