Mental Illness… Writing What You Know

I’m a therapist by day, working with people who are seriously mentally ill.  Some of the themes I tend to write about involve mental illness in one form or another, suicide, and drug abuse.  These are the things I’m well acquainted with, and I think they make interesting topics.

That being said, it’s always interesting to see what others write about in terms of mental illness.  I found a new and interesting blog recently called the Insanity Aquarium.  I think the title says it all.  The stories in the blog are inspired by real life, but are embellished.  It’s an interesting blog to browse, and I highly recommend it to inspire and jog creativity.

http://insanityaquarium.wordpress.com/2011/11/28/resisting-the-urge/

4 comments on “Mental Illness… Writing What You Know

  1. I happened upon her blog yesterday.. definitely worth checking out!

    And my hats off to you, my friend. The mentally ill need wonderful people like you to help them. It’s a thankless job at times I’m sure.

    Darlene 😉

  2. Anna says:

    Thank you so much for your kind words! You’ve put a huge smile on my face. I have to write about the things I know… often this involves some kind of interpretation of my mental illnesses or the thoughts and ideas my frazzled mind creates in my head. But I also think it makes for interesting reading; it’s the exact reason I created my blog. It somehow makes everything more tangible. And so I really do appreciate your mini-review! Being endorsed by a therapist is ironic and yet absolutely wonderful, so thank you!

    • doreeweller says:

      I love your blog. In fact, I think it’s great that someone is being so honest, even if it’s embellished, as I believe you said. People need to know that mental illness is nothing to be afraid of; it’s just one more thing that makes us who we are. Keep writing. To me, all honesty in writing is brave.

Leave a Reply

