77 Shadow Street- book review

I recently read 77 Shadow Street by Dean Koontz.  First off, I absolutely love all things Dean Koontz.  In my opinion, he’s the best.

That being said, this wasn’t his best book.

I absolutely loved the plot, but if this hadn’t been a Dean Koontz book, I’m not sure I would have made it through to the end.  Setting was an integral plot point, but I felt that the description of setting went overboard and slowed the book down to the point that I mostly skimmed whole paragraphs.  I thought there’d be something important in there, but after finishing the book, I realized that the description didn’t have to be repeated (in slightly different form) over and over and over.

Overall, yes, I would recommend this book.  But if you’re like me and want something fast paced, I’d recommend skimming or just skipping many of the descriptions of setting.

There’s also a large cast of interesting characters.  But because there are so many characters, it’s hard to really connect with any of them.  I liked them, and wanted to see them come out of this story okay, but I didn’t get emotionally wrapped up in any of them.

My recommendation is to get it from the library or borrow it from a friend.  I’ll end up buying it in paperback just because I have to own every book he’s written, but I don’t think this one will go on the re-read shelf, and that’s saying a lot for a Koontz book for me.

Leave a Reply

