Q is for Quack

Before I get to any kind of real point, I just have to say that “qi” is the most useful word in the English language.  Why?  It helps me get rid of a “q” in Words With Friends when I don’t have a “u.”

I originally thought I might do “quirky,” but that seemed too easy.  Instead, this is what comes to mind when I think of “quack.”

I mentioned in my “P is for Popcorn” post that I like to paint ceramics, and I’m usually pretty good at it.  EXCEPT for when I get too creative or “clever.”

My grandparents traveled around the East Coast selling antiques and reproductions at flea markets.  Some of my best memories come from summers when I got to travel with them.

My grandfather got a pair of unpainted wooden ducks and decided they might sell better if they were painted.  He gave me the pair and told me to “get crazy.”  Now, anyone who knows me knows that was probably not the best thing for him to say.  I have a love affair with color.  In my opinion, the more, the better.  My friends and family still try to teach me basic rules of matching with something like desperation.  It’s probably never going to stick.

I was maybe 13 or 14, and my best friend, April, came over to help me paint the ducks.  She’s artistic and a perfectionist, and her duck turned out great.  It was pretty realistic, and it sold not too long after we gave my grandfather the ducks.

Mine, on the other hand… Well, for some reason, I decided to paint the duck blue.  And give it polka dots.  It was hideous.  I don’t know why I thought it was a good idea, but I’m pretty sure someone burned that duck eventually.  I have no photographic evidence, but count yourself lucky; you really don’t want to see it!

For awhile, I was on a polka-dotted duck theme, and even wrote a really bad poem about it.  I had intended to share it with you, but alas, I didn’t get t it in time.  When I locate it, I might put it on Facebook, as something that bad should be immortalized.

3 comments on “Q is for Quack

  1. alberta says:

    Don’t think the first comment went through – so I think a polka dot duck would be nice to have around:) Popped in to say hi and thanks for your visit. Hope you are enjoying the A-Zing as much as I am.

  2. oh, I love the ducks! 🙂 I would love to read your poem. And you are so right about qi in Words With Friends. 🙂

Leave a Reply

