W is for Wishing (or Waxing Philosophical)

Oh, I thought about doing “W is for Writing.”  Even as I write this, I’m thinking, “I can write about writing!”  But it seems too obvious and wastes the opportunity for me to step out of my comfort zone and write about something I otherwise might not have.

How many of us have dreamed about rubbing the lamp with the genie, winning the lottery, or capturing a leprechaun?  I dream of winning the lottery, and I don’t even play!

I’ve written a previous post on “My Three Wishes,” and if you’re interested, you can read it here: My Three Wishes.

Since I’ve gone in that direction with a previous post, I’m not going to do it again.  Mostly I’m interested in why we wish for things.  Do we wish for things because we’re lazy?  Because we don’t think we can get them on our own?  Or is it just human nature?

In my case, I wish for things that would make my life easier.  But I think it’s true that as humans, we mostly wish for things we don’t have.  If we have enough, we want more.  If we have curly hair, we want straight (and vice versa).

Someone recently commented to me how “easy” everyone else seems to have it.  One thing that working in Mobile Crisis has taught me is that things are never as they seem on the outside.  People who are suicidal, breaking down, feeling alone, taking medication to stay functional, often seem fine to an outsider.  Others think they’re okay because most of us are taught to seem fine and in control at all times.  It’s funny.  Person A is working hard to stay in control because they don’t want to seem like a lunatic to Person B, who has it all together.  In the meantime, Person B is doing the same thing because Person A seems great!

Sure, I like the idea of being born thin and rich and/or talented.  I mean, it’s worked really well for Paris Hilton, right?  And Brittany Spears.  Lindsay Lohan.  Most basketball and football players.  The many lottery winners who end up bankrupt.

Look, all I’m saying is that maybe the grass only looks greener from a distance.  Maybe it’s nice to look at but not that great up close.  Anything “better” carries its own set of problems.

That doesn’t mean I’m going to stop wishing.  I think that wishing is necessary to keep us going.

3 comments on “W is for Wishing (or Waxing Philosophical)

  1. Jenny says:

    Maybe people wish because we see just enough examples of dreams coming true to think, hey, it’s worth a shot. My favorite wish is the birthday wish 🙂

  2. xxxxxx doree weller says:

    I’M NOT A DREAMER, BUT YOUR DREAMS KEEP YOU GOING, NEVER STOP DREAMING, BELIEVE.

Leave a Reply

