Prometheus

We went to see Prometheus last night, and as pure entertainment, it’s a good movie.  It’s got good characters, good actions, and good explosions.

I thought the storytelling was sloppy, though.  I don’t mind gaps in stories; after all, sometimes things need to be left to the imagination.  Sometimes it’s best not to overtell a story; after all, readers must do some work too.  In this case, though, I had a lot of questions, and couldn’t tell if that’s because I don’t remember all the details of the Aliens movies, or if it’s because there were a lot of unexplained gaps.  In my opinion, movies should be able to stand alone.  That is, I shouldn’t need to have seen Alien in order to understand this one.

Don’t get me wrong; it was a good movie, just not as good as I expected or wanted it to be.  I did read an article that explains much of my confusion.  Here’s a link, but I warn you… if you haven’t seen the movie, this contains spoilers.

Leave a Reply

