Negativity

Facebook is a wonderful place to study human nature.  If I asked most of my friends, they’d say they “hate drama,” yet in reading their posts on Facebook, I have to wonder about that statement.  Most of the people who are most vocal about hating drama seem to be the biggest causes of it, posting passive aggressive things obviously meant to reach someone else.

Last night I posted a really awesome article about a man with no legs who climbed Mt. Kilimanjaro.  I meant to share what I thought was an inspirational story, and I commented, “There is no such thing as can’t.  Really.”  One of my friends responded that he “can’t” find someone to love him.

My first reaction to that was really negative, and I thought that the person was probably attention seeking, negative, and missing the point of the story.  Once I thought about it a little bit more, I realized that even though I didn’t post any kind of response, I was feeding into the negativity with my own reaction.  So what if he was seeking attention with that comment?  If people are looking for attention, it’s generally for a reason, and if I really consider him my friend, I should give him some attention without feeding the negativity.  I really believe that old adage, “If you’re not part of the solution, you’re part of the problem.”

I’m not going to climb Mt. Kilimanjaro on my hands.  Could I?  Maybe.  Will I?  Hell no.  Let’s face it, exercise is a dirty word to me.  But, even though I’ll never inspire others that way, it’s my job to be what’s important to me.  For me, the important stuff is being positive, supporting others, and being a good example.  So, I’m going to have to re-evaluate my presence on Facebook.  Even though I don’t feed into all that passive aggressive nonsense, I sit back and laugh at it.  Maybe my lack of response to it feeds the negativity in some way.

Anyone have any thoughts on that?

3 comments on “Negativity

  1. Ramona says:

    What a great post! I feel the same way. I use FB mostly to be connected to far away friends and for humor. I usually don’t post anything too terribly personal. I try to take other people’s posts with a grain of salt & I don’t respond to the passive aggressive taunts, political comments, etc. I’ll hide people or unfriend them if their comments become too much to take. Yet I often find myself judging others for what they post and asking “Why would someone post that? Who wants to see that?”. So I try to remind myself that there are likely people who feel that way about my posts and I’m not being as relaxed about FB as I want to be. Sometimes I just need to check in with myself & regroup.

  2. Hey Doree! I nominated you for the Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Thanks for keeping up the positivity.

Leave a Reply

