Editing, Making Lists, and Other Writerly Stuff

Under normal circumstances, I whine and complain when I have to hand write anything.  Even signing my name is a major chore for me.  In the day of electronic payments for just about everything, I don’t even have to write checks.  If, for some odd reason, I leave my husband a note about something, he’s lucky if he can read it.

The equation changes when we’re talking about editing or brainstorming for stories.

Normally, I can “think” better with a keyboard under my fingers, but when it comes to editing or brainstorming, I must have a pen in hand.  I’m very environmentally conscious, so I’ve tried and tried to edit work on the computer.  I just can’t do it.  I’m so much more efficient and so much better at it when I print it and go at it with a pen.  When I write character notes, lists, or brainstorm, same goes.  There’s just something about a pen in my fingers that makes it easier for me to think and to write.  Now, if I had to hand write the actual document, I know I couldn’t do that.

I’m constantly editing my stories, as I do believe that great stories aren’t written, they’re re-written.  Here’s a link with 20 quick and dirty tips for editing.  What I like about it is that it’s short, sweet, and hits the high points.

How do you edit?  Any special way you like to do it?  A certain pen?  Specific music?

Leave a Reply

