Friday Writing Prompt- I’m Getting Around To That!

How many of us have said, “I’ll get to that tomorrow.  Or Monday.  Or when X happens.”?  I suspect every one of us has done this, with the best of intentions.  The thing is that tomorrow or Monday or X comes and goes and we don’t get around to it.

Last week, I wrote a post about goal setting, and I know I’m not the only one who deals with this.  I recently read a great article on why, when we mess up on our diet goals, we shouldn’t wait until Monday to get back on the wagon.

With that being said, it put me in mind of a perfect writing prompt.  Write about a time that you (or your character) put off something important.  It doesn’t have to be earth shattering, just something important to you (or the character).  Diet, exercise, writing, a new hobby, getting a dog, volunteering.

On a related topic, why do you suppose most of us put things off that are important to us?  In part, I blame our busy schedules and the Internet.  But it has to go deeper than that.  Theories, anyone?

Leave a Reply

