Weekly Photo Challenge: Growing

This summer, I decided to try for a garden.  Other years I’ve lived in Arizona, I’ve been spectacularly unsuccessful in growing tomatoes and green peppers.  This year, I did my homework (thank you Dave Owens) and found out that growing anything in Arizona is not like growing things back East, and it was possible, but I had to do things a little differently.

One of my successes was these Armenian cucumbers, pictured here.  They’re an almost melony cucumber, and made delicious pickles.  FYI, they’re pictured with my 50 pound dog.  These are no Chihuahua sized cucumbers!

The growing season seems to be pretty much over for the summer here, but I’m looking forward to fall crops.

Leave a Reply

