Cemetery Girl- A Book Review

I’ve tried to branch out in my reading a bit, and I’ve been mostly successful.  I found Cemetery Girl by David Bell at the local used book store, and I decided to give it a try.  The book centers around a family: Tom, Abby, and their daughter Caitlin.  Caitlin is kidnapped when she’s 12, and Tom never gives up the idea that they might find her.  At 16, she’s found, but the reunion is nothing like he imagined it would be.

This is a book that raises more questions than answers.  Sometimes I don’t like that in books, because they feel unfinished.  In this book, the questions left unanswered feel deliberate, and though it’s a bit unsatisfying, it feels right, like real life.  If you’re looking for a light novel that makes you feel good, this probably isn’t the one for you.  It would be a good discussion book, something to read with friends and talk about over coffee.  I can’t say that I liked this book, but it was an engrossing read, and I couldn’t put it down.  I read it in one day, beginning to end.

If you like this type of novel, give it a try.  If you prefer to keep it light, this one’s a pass.

Leave a Reply

