A Lesson in Kindness and Understanding

I admit it; sometimes I’m not as kind as I want to be.

I see a lot of odd and sad stuff in my job, and as part of what I do, most of us use black humor to deal with our job. I’m a connoisseur of the weird, the wacky, and the downright bizarre.

I came across <a href="http://jezebel.com/5946643/reddit-users-attempt-to-shame-sikh-woman-get-righteously-schooled”>this article the other day, about a man who covertly took a picture of a Sikh woman and posted it on Reddit to ridicule her. The photo shows someone who is obviously a woman in a turban, but with facial hair. If I had come across this woman, I can guarantee that I wouldn’t have photographed her and posted it, but I’m not sure what I would have thought.

I have a friend who was ridiculed in high school for her dark hair on her arms and face. It was nowhere near to the extent of this woman, but she was still put down. So I should know better. But I’m only human, and my thoughts aren’t wrong. Behavior is what tells.

The interesting part of this story is that the woman saw her picture and the reactions to it, and replied with such grace and understanding that I felt a little ashamed for even knowing that I would have done a double take if I had seen her out and about. I’ve learned a little bit about the Sikh religion, which I knew nothing about. This woman took a situation where she was being made fun of, and turned it into a teaching moment. She could have ranted and raved, and it would have seemed fair and right. But I wouldn’t have learned from her the way I did for her reply, which is the epitome of kindness. If I live another 100 years, I’m not sure that I could be as good of a human as she is. This woman is my idea of both bravery and someone who sticks to their convictions, no matter what. Take a moment to read the article, and then I’d love to know what you think.

2 comments on “A Lesson in Kindness and Understanding

  1. ramona says:

    Nice post.

  2. Reblogged this on Musings of a Bipedal Vertebrate and commented:
    A close friend of mine posted this, and having met a few Sikhs in my life, it is something I feel needs to be shared. The strength of character shown by the woman who was photographed, and then by the person who took the picture restores a little of my faith in humanity.

Leave a Reply

