Gone Girl- A Review

Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn, is not a book I would have normally chosen to read.  Not that it wasn’t a book I would like, but if not for my book club, it never would have come up on my radar.

Nick’s wife, Amy, has disappeared from their home.  Nick has no idea why anyone would want to hurt Amy, but their house shows signs of a struggle.  The story of Amy’s disappearance is told from Nick’s point of view, offset by Amy’s diary entries from the time they met, up until the day of the disappearance.

For the first 100 pages, I couldn’t decide if I liked the book or not.  It definitely caught my interest, and compelled me to keep reading, but I wasn’t sure if it was going to go on the “like,” “dislike,” or “meh” mental shelf.

By the time I got to the end, I absolutely loved the book.  I liked the ending, I liked the suspense, and I liked that the book kept me in a constant state of tension.  I couldn’t wait to read the ending.

Now for the bad… So far I’m the ONLY person in my book club who liked the ending.  We haven’t discussed in any detail yet, as there are those who haven’t read it, but if it were majority rule, the ending would have to go.

Let me just say this: if you’re up for something a little different, that will keep you guessing until the end, give this book a try.  I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Leave a Reply

