Weighty Issues

Our very overweight cat, weighing in at 28 pounds. She’s the sweetest cat ever, just… big.

I’m a big proponent of acceptance and being non-judgemental toward self and others.  I’ve blogged a few times about weight issues, and how I love Jennifer Weiner’s books because her characters aren’t the most perfect and beautiful women on the face of the planet.

Most of us, no matter what size we are, have some sort of body issues.  None of us are perfect, but my personal goal is to embrace my flaws rather than put myself down for them.

I was inspired to write this because of an interview with Melissa McCarthy, in which she talks about how she’s healthy and active, but can’t seem to lose weight.  I get that!  That’s my story too!  I have tons of energy, eat mostly vegetables, don’t drink soda (yuck), seldom have sugar, but every pound is a battle. In everyday situations, I can outlast ALL of my thinner friends.

I guess the point to all this is that none of us are perfect, and we all need to learn a little more kindness.  It’s hard to be kind to yourself, but if we can work hard at everything else, we can do that too.

Take a moment to click this link.  It links to Stella Boonshoft’s webpage.  It links to a picture of her in her underwear, overweight and stretch marks showing.  She’s a pretty girl, and goes on to explain that the picture is posted for everyone who picked on her, made fun of her, and treated her badly.  When I was 6 or 7, I had a boy who called me Pigface and another who called me Elephant.  Was I overweight?  Well, yeah.  Did I deserve to be treated that way?  Nope.

Whether the issues is weight, how you dress, how smart you are, job status, sexual orientation, none of us deserve to be judged by others.  I’m not as kind as I’d like toward others (or myself), but I truly believe that life is a journey, and as long as I’m still working on it, that’s what’s important.

 

Leave a Reply

