Tempting the Beast- a Review

imagesA work friend and I recently exchanged book recommendations.  I recommended the Brotherhood of the Black Dagger Series by JR Ward (which she absolutely loved) in exchange for Tempting the Beast by Lora Leigh and one other (to be reviewed later).  Tempting the Beast was supposed to be a sizzling hot romance, and I expected it to be for adults only.  Honestly, the book bored me.  It was mostly sex with one dimensional characters and a plot that would have been great had it actually been fleshed out.  I don’t know a single thing about the characters other than that the female lead is a stubborn reporter with 7 brothers, and the male lead is part of a genetic experiment and is also stubborn.  Oh, and they like sex.  A lot.  It was love at first sight and undeniable attraction and all that.  Blah, blah, blah.

In fairness, this book got pretty good reviews on Amazon, scoring a 4 out of 5 overall.  So maybe I just missed something.  I got through about a third of the book before I quit, but I later went back and forced myself to finish it.  The ending was predictable… which, I know romance novels always are, but I like romance with a predictable destination through a scenic route, not the same old roads I’ve seen before.

If you value my opinion, don’t bother with this one unless you’re looking for a certain type of read.  Then this one’s perfect.

Leave a Reply

