I is for Ideas

I’m sorry this is posting late!

It seems as if everyone has a great idea.  I hear people say that they have a great idea for a book, or that they could write a book if they had time.  People offer their ideas up as if they’re being helpful.  Anyone who writes knows that having an idea isn’t the problem.  It’s having a new idea, the time to write it.  For me, it’s having the ability to sit down and work on just one story.  I always have many, many stories, as well as a novel or so in process.  I know that I should sit down and focus on just one, but what happens when I have a really great idea for one of my other stories?  Then I have to switch over, just for a little while.

I get ideas from eavesdropping, from my job, from my family, from PostSecret, from the news.  I get ideas from pretty much everything and everywhere.  I daydream stories on my drive to work and make up side stories for characters in books and movies.

There are stories all around me… I just have to figure out which one to write.

2 comments on “I is for Ideas

  1. Joe Owens says:

    Doree – I think it is a blessing and asset to be able to write about whatever interest you. I feel a similar way in that if I have something that interest me I must take time to develop it to see if it is worth pursuing. Perhaps it is proof of my ADHD tendencies.

  2. Cindy Dwyer says:

    I write down all sorts of ideas – you never know when they will be useful.

Leave a Reply

