K is for Keys

imagesI love old keys, and I’m not sure why. I just think they’re really cool to look at, and they always make me wonder who used them.  When did they stop using them?  Doorknobs don’t really have character anymore.  Most of the features in new houses are built for efficiency and usefulness, but the lack character and quirkiness of old homes.

I live in a new house now, and I like a lot of things about it, but I grew up in a farmhouse, and I miss the creaky steps, odd drafts, doorways set everywhere for no apparent reason, and the keyholes in the doors.

I can’t be the only one interested in this.  Books and literature talk about both literal and metaphoric keys.  Keys seem to be one of those universal symbols that speak to everyone on some level.

2 comments on “K is for Keys

  1. Cindy Dwyer says:

    I love the character of old houses, but it sure is nice having the reliability of a new house. Someday I’d love to build a new old house. It would have the charm of an old house, but with even floors!

  2. elegsabiff says:

    My mother was fascinated by keys as well and by the time I turned 21 she had lots of old wonderfully shaped ones, although it wasn’t her original intention they made a great decorative theme. I tend to hang on to unusual ones as well, although relatively few of those around these days

Leave a Reply

