L is for Love

IMG_1142It was requested that I blog about love, which I find interesting.  I think it was probably requested because my day job persona is wise-cracking, thick-skinned, and foul-mouthed.  I write about murder, death, and dying (and joke about it too).  Wanna know a secret?

I’m a marshmallow.  And a romantic.

If I don’t care about you, nothing you can say will ever hurt me.  In fact, from people I dislike or am indifferent toward, I think attempts to insult me are pretty funny.  However, if you’re on the short list of people I care about, I can be overly sensitive.  I try not to be, but it can be hard.

Ever hear of the 5 Love Languages by Gary Chapman?  He talks about how people show and receive love in different ways: physical touch, giving/receiving gifts, words, acts of service, quality time.  I’m all about acts of service and quality time.  If I care about someone, I love to do things for them.  I’m an “actions speak louder than words” kind of girl.  Which is good, because my words can be caustic, to say the least.  People who understand me don’t seem to mind, though.  They laugh it off and gratefully accept me for who I am.

It’s nice to have friends who understand you.  🙂

 

3 comments on “L is for Love

  1. elegsabiff says:

    My goodness I’m glad I don’t get requests – I have enough trouble thinking of something to say on topics I came up with all by myself. Nice blog and fabulous photo!

  2. Cindy Dwyer says:

    I just had a lengthy conversation with a friend today about love and the different ways people have of demonstrating it. Unfortunately, love itself doesn’t always suffice if two people have very different comfort levels with how they express it – and need to receive it.

    Great post. Kudos to whoever suggested the topic and to you as well for writing it so well.

Leave a Reply

