O is for Openness

IMG_0536I try to be open.  Open-minded, open to new experiences, open to learning.   I’ve learned a lot of things from the people in my life, and I thought I’d share them here.

From the TV Guy, I learned that you can learn at least one thing from anyone and everyone.  Pay attention.

From my husband, I learned that stereo instructions aren’t really hard to read.  And that everyone likes homemade cake.

From my grandmother, I learned that you can make anything into art.

From my grandfather, I learned that you’re never to old to learn, and if you own it, you should know how to use it.

From my mother, I learned that it’s important to live every day to the fullest.

From my father, I learned that everything tastes better when it’s cooked with love.

From my sister, I learned that it’s important to be careful what you say in the heat of anger because you never know if you’ll get the opportunity to say you’re sorry.  Also, you’re never to old or too poor to follow your dreams.

From my sister’s boyfriend, I learned to never stop trying.

From my brother, I learned that you never know someone else’s experience of the world unless you ask.  And even then, you may not get it.

*Note: I’m an only child and don’t have a brother or sister by blood, but they’re related to me by love, so it counts.

5 comments on “O is for Openness

  1. Betty Alark says:

    I agree you do learn by being open! Great post!

  2. Hello! This is a wonderful post. I too believe you can learn something from everyone you know and meet, as long as you remain open. It sounds like you have a terrific support group around you!

    Happy A to Z-ing! from Laura Marcella @ Wavy Lines

  3. […]  O is for Openness- Things I’ve learned from the people I love […]

Leave a Reply

