P is for Patience/ Procrastination

Photo credit- Doree Weller, Schnepf Farms, AZ

Photo credit- Doree Weller, Schnepf Farms, AZ

My original thought was to do a blog on Pet Peeves, but I couldn’t come up with a list of things to complain about!  I guess that means that life is good and I’m pretty happy.

I’ve often been told I have a lot of patience, and it’s true that I do.  That can be both a positive and a negative for me.  It means that I don’t get upset when I have to wait for things.  But it can also make me a great procrastinator, under the guise of patience.  Instead of doing, I’ll just wait until the time is right.  It’s part of my philosophy that good things come to those who wait and all that.

I don’t think it’s a bad thing that I’m happy to wait for things, even though it makes some of my less patient friends a little crazy.  I do think that I should procrastinate things I want a little bit less.  However, patience is a great excuse to procrastinate.  “Well, I’ll just get to that when I’m less busy.”  It allows me to put off my own wants and needs.  I’m extremely productive, but really bad at taking time out for myself.  You see, that’s one of the things I’m a patient procrastinator about… things I really want to do for myself.

How to be less of a procrastinator while still keeping the good parts of being patient?  No idea really.  I guess it’s something I’ll have to get around to working on.

4 comments on “P is for Patience/ Procrastination

  1. Cindy Dwyer says:

    “How to be less of a procrastinator while still keeping the good parts of being patient?” I think the answer involves another great “P” word – prioritizing!

    Great post. I’m exercising patience this week as we struggle to figure out why my posts aren’t being emailed to my subscribers. In comparison to the real-life tragedies that have happened this week, I’m finding it very easy to not let this upset me overly much, but I do apologize for the inconvenience. It was very sweet of you to pop over and check in with me!

  2. I’m good at some stuff, and total crap at other stuff! I try to prioritise every week, but somehow certain things get pushed back on my list…

    Not sure how I can alter it really…

  3. Pete Denton says:

    Procrastination is something we all seem to be guilty of at some time or another. I try to be patient and try and make sure I keep doing.

Leave a Reply

