Happy 4th of July!

Photo Credit: Doree Weller, Sea World, CA

Photo Credit: Doree Weller, Sea World, CA

Fourth of July is one of my favorite holidays!  First off, I love what it stands for.  A bunch of people decided something wasn’t right and they weren’t going to stand for being put down anymore, so they stood up, fought, and won.  Now, we have the right to speak our minds, be whatever religion seems right to us (or be none at all), love who we choose (though this is constantly a work in progress… it’s getting better), and so on and so forth.  I recently realized that it had been awhile since I read the Bill of Rights, so I had to refresh myself on what all of those rights actually are.  Today’s a great day to do that if it’s been awhile.  Freedom of religion, speech, and the right to bear arms are the ones that get all the press.

The other reason I love 4th of July is the fireworks.  I love things that go flash-bang.  They’re pretty and sparkly, and though I usually hate things that are loud, I make an exception for fireworks.

Hope you have a great day today.

4 comments on “Happy 4th of July!

  1. I love this holiday, too! I love the excitement in the air – people out and about – sno-cones, picnics, parades. This is going to be such a fun day!

  2. It’s important to remind ourselves what the 4th of July is all about 🙂

Leave a Reply

