Who I Want to Be

IMG_0279

IMG_0278

Sorry for the lateness of today’s post.  I was working outside until the storm rolled in.

A friend of mine always says, “We’re works in progress,” and it’s so true.

Awhile back, I wrote a blog about a Sikh woman who was photographed without her knowledge and ridiculed on Reddit.  She responded to the person who ridiculed her, not with the vitriol I would have responded with, but with grace, kindness, and understanding.  When I read her post, I realized that’s who I want to be like.

I’m known to have an acerbic wit, and if there are two possible meanings to anything I’ve said, it’s a safe bet to choose the sarcastic one.  I don’t care what others think of me, and I laugh at attempts to hurt me from those who mean nothing to me.  But I don’t try to be mean.  Well, not really.

It’s hard sometimes, because I lose sight of who I am sometimes.  People annoy me, especially when it feels as if they’re being deliberately stupid.  I have to constantly remind myself that we are the sum total of our experiences, and that if someone is acting a certain way, it’s probably learned in some way.  It’s not about me.

A woman recently started at my job, and I don’t like her.  She asks questions, and then argues about the answers.  I dislike people who seem willfully stupid.  Ignorant is fine.  Willing to learn is fine.

I haven’t been actively mean to her, but I definitely have not made any effort to be pleasant.  In fact, I mostly ignore her.  I realized that’s not who I want to be.  I don’t have to like her or put up with her stupidity, but I should at least treat her the way I’d want to be treated at a new job.  Maybe she’s anxious and in her anxiety, gets annoying.  Or maybe she really is just annoying.  But I’ll never know unless I make an effort.

No promises, but I’m going to strive to be the person my dogs think I am.

2 comments on “Who I Want to Be

  1. Jenny Wilson says:

    Great post today!

    Recognizing our own weaknesses is a first step to caring about others. Great reminder to get our eyes off ourselves.

    Thanks for showing a little vulnerability. It’s motivation to be real!

Leave a Reply

