What I’ve Been Reading and Watching

DSCN3088I’ve been on vacation his last week, and I’ve been trying to relax.  I’ve gotten a lot done, which is a good thing.  Partly I’ve gotten a lot done because I haven’t allowed myself to start any books.  When I read, if I like the book, I get very obsessive and can’t tear myself away from it.  I can lose hours that way.

I don’t usually watch much TV, but since I’ve been home with the husband, we’ve watched a few things.

1.  The Double- Starring Richard Gere, this is a spy thriller, and a very good movie.  It’s fast paced, and though the plot was predictable (to me), there was a twist at the end that I didn’t see coming.  Very entertaining.

2.  The Factory- Starring John Cusak and Jennifer Carpenter, this got mostly lousy reviews, but I loved it.  A man is kidnapping young prostitutes, and they disappear.  John Cusak is the cop obsessed with catching the kidnapper, but when his daughter is kidnapped, it goes to a whole ‘nother level.  Plus, you’ll never guess the motive of the kidnapper.  I highly recommend it.

3.  The Grey- Excellent acting by Liam Neeson makes this movie really great.  After a plane crashes in Alaska, the survivors realize they have to move from the wreck site as killer wolves attack.  While this isn’t in any way an uplifting movie, it’s worth watching.

4.  The Expendables 2-  Lots of stuff blows up.  There’s not much plot, but it’s a lot of fun and has just about every action star that ever was in it.  What did you expect?

5.  Mystery Men- 1999 is calling and they want their movie back.  My husband and I may have been the only two people anywhere who liked this movie.  but he’s not as enthusiastic about it now that he’s rewatched it.  I still think it was fun.

Books

1.  The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon- I know this book as been out for a few years, but I never got around to reading it.  The book starts off with the neighbor’s dog being murdered, which was hard for me to read.  It’s narrated by a young man with autism who is determined to find the dog’s killer.  The book is fast paced, engaging, and funny.  It’s worth reading once, though I won’t be buying it.

Yes, I’ve seriously only read one book this week.  When I’m in the mood to read something, I’ve been reading Chicken Soup for the Soul online.  They have some great short stories, but even better, I don’t lose the whole day, engrossed in something.

Leave a Reply

