The Lion is In, A Review

images

My book club’s pick for September was The Lion is In, by Delia Ephron.  I have to admit that I wasn’t overly enthused by this pick.  The description seemed weird, and I didn’t expect to like it.  Discussing books is fun though, so I got it from the library.  After getting it from the library, I set it aside and read something else.  Then read something else.  To be honest, the only reason I even started it was because it has to get back to the library next week and I didn’t feel like putting it on reserve again.  (My library only has one copy, and someone else wants it, so I can’t renew it.)

I started it yesterday, and it drew me right in.  From the first scene, I wondered what was going on, and I liked the characters immediately.  Tracee and Lana are obviously on the run from something, and Tracee is wearing a wedding dress.  They meet up with Rita and break into a bar in the middle of nowhere.  Inside the bar is a lion in a cage, who scares the bejesus out of them at first.

The story starts out fast and the characters are likable and interesting.  But… the whole story stays pretty superficial.  We find out all the character’s secrets and the stories behind their problems, but it didn’t draw me in emotionally.  It made me laugh, and I enjoyed it, but I felt like the characters were only partly developed.

I recommend this book, but don’t expect too much from it.

Leave a Reply

