Thanksgiving

San Tan Regional Park; Photo Credit: Doree Weller

San Tan Regional Park; Photo Credit: Doree Weller

Thanksgiving is tomorrow, and I’m glad for it.  We don’t have any “formal” holiday traditions in my family; we’re just a small family, but we do get together, eat, and watch movies.  No one in my family watches football, so movies it is.

I like Thanksgiving, not just for the huge meal of foods I mostly only eat once a year, but also because it’s a day to just be with family.  That’s the point of a holiday to me, a day off from the to do list.  I can relax, make a meal, enjoy it, and just be.  I don’t have anywhere to go or anything to do.

A few years ago, Thanksgiving started to be a shopping holiday, which I really don’t get.  Sure, people like to shop on Black Friday.  I even did it a few times as a young adult and got great deals on stuff I didn’t really need.  I don’t remember getting any gifts in those years.  It was a more frenetic pace of shopping that didn’t really inspire thoughtfulness.

I haven’t done Black Friday shopping in many years, and I don’t intend to.  I’ve worked the last three Thanksgiving/ Black Fridays in crisis, which I consider an acceptable reason for a company to have us work.  This year, it will be a relief to relax and not leave the house on those days.  I can put away the to do list as it’s still a holiday.  I might get some things done on my “want to do” list instead of my “need to do” list, which would be a nice change.

My father works at Wal-mart, and of course he has to work both days.  That’s another reason I won’t go anywhere, especially on Thanksgiving.  If we all refused to shop on Thanksgiving, no matter how good the deals might be, people like my dad wouldn’t be stuck working when he’d rather spend the day with us.

I’m grateful that my parents live out here now, and that I’ll get to spend some time with them on the holiday.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Here’s a link to a great article about the differences between capitalism and consumerism:  If You Shop On Thanksgiving, You Are Part of the Problem.

(Update)  After I finished writing this post, I read an article titled, Before You Post Something Derogatory About People Who Shop On Thanksgiving.  Basically, the author shows that other side, that some people want the holiday paycheck or don’t have traditional families to spend the day with, that some families enjoy shopping together, among other good points.  It’s a good post and worth reading.  In a perfect world, I guess I wouldn’t care if people shopped on Thanksgiving or not, if stores were open or not, as long as each employee had the choice to work or not work on the holiday.  Those who wanted to work could, and those who didn’t could be with family.  However you end up celebrating your holiday, I hope you have a great day.

2 comments on “Thanksgiving

  1. A.Mystery says:

    Hey! Can your Dad get me the employee discount!!? …I’m just kidding, no one should have to work on specific holidays like that. They tempted me to work with extra $. It really is both positive and negative reinforcement. The $ is positive, while avoiding family is the negative.

Leave a Reply

