Pay Attention!

“You can’t control the length of your life, but you can control its width and depth. You can’t control the contour of your face, but you can control its expression. You can’t control the weather, but you can control the atmosphere of your mind. Why worry about things you can’t control when you can keep yourself busy controlling the things that depend on you?” -Author Unknown

DSCN4305Someone brought this quote to me today, and it was absolutely perfect for what’s been going on with me.  I’ve been feeling a little out of control, a little overstressed, a little overwhelmed, and inadequate to dealing with it.  Sometimes life gets overwhelming and I feel like I don’t know how to manage it.

I firmly believe that the Universe tells me what I need to know, if I’m willing to listen, and this was no exception.  Out of the blue, this was given to me, and I’m reminded that the more I pay attention to the chaos, the more I feel out of control.  The more I center myself and remember what’s important, the more I feel as if things have meaning.

The fact is that I can’t control anything outside of myself, and anxiety comes from worrying about stuff I can’t control.  So I can waste my precious energy, or I can spend it on the things that matter.  Put that way, it’s not much of a choice, is it?

So, Universe, message received.  I feel better, calmer, and ready to go forward in the world again.

Leave a Reply

