Top 10 Reasons To Go Camping

1. FIRE!  As in campfire.  Really, do I even need other reasons?  I love fire, watching fire, and sitting by the fire.  I find it hypnotic and can understand why moths go to their deaths.  Plus, I have a good reason to start a much bigger fire than I’m allowed to start at home.

DSCN3680

Fire!

2.  Junk food.  Marshmallows are part of a balanced breakfast, especially when you have to get creative because you forgot sugar for your coffee.  Not that I’ve ever done that or anything.  I also burned our meal so I had to eat s’mores for dinner.  Bummer.

3.  The night sky.  I love the night sky, but when I’m home, I’m too busy being distracted by my laptop, TV, and phone.  I don’t go outside and look at the stars and think philosophical thoughts, even though I enjoy it.  When you’re camping, that’s the entertainment, folks.  Well, that, the fire, and the animal soundtrack.  (crickets, anyone?)

4.  Sunrise and sunset.  When else are you going to get up early enough to see sunrise or slow down enough to see sunset?  Probably not often, at least not on purpose.  And they’re amazing, especially here in Arizona.

Sunrise, Dead Horse Ranch State Park; Photo Credit: Doree Weller

Sunrise, Dead Horse Ranch State Park; Photo Credit: Doree Weller

5.  Togetherness.  Most people don’t go camping alone.  Putting up the tent, lighting the campfire, cooking… you have to work together to do all these things, and it’s a lot of fun.  At first you think there might be a homicide, but as you go on, you realize that working together is actually pretty fun.  Not to mention all crowding together and sleeping in the same tent.

6.  Breakfast.  Eggs cooked in a cast iron skillet over an open fire are the bomb.  I love eggs, and those were the Best.  Eggs.  Ever.

7.  It’s peaceful.  This is sort of implied in the other stuff I said, but it really is peaceful and relaxing.  I’m a high anxiety sort of person, always doing something and solving someone’s drama.  Camping is a great way to slow down and just take it all in.

8.  It’s a cheap way to get away from home.  Vacations can be expensive, but camping is relatively cheap.  I rented my campsite for $20, but bought food to eat.  I would have had to buy food anyway, right?

Yay, camping!

Yay, camping!

9.  Few distractions.  We weren’t so out in the middle of nowhere that our phones didn’t work, but we shut them off.  No TV or laptops or Facebook or I Can Haz Cheezburger.  Just us and nature.  (And the other campers, but we pretended they weren’t there.)

10.  Dressing down.  I got to appear in some of my oldest clothes in public, didn’t have to shower, and fit in perfectly with the social norm.  Every once in a while, it’s nice to get dirty and just not care.

One comment on “Top 10 Reasons To Go Camping

  1. […] Top 10 Reasons to Go Camping- I think this one is kind of self-explanatory. […]

Leave a Reply

