Q is for Quality

Photo credit: RJS Photography

Photo credit: RJS Photography

Once upon a time, I preferred “cheap.”  I preferred cheap clothing, cheap shoes, cheap baking utensils (one notable exception being my beloved KitchenAid mixer).  I think it was mostly me being penny-wise and pound-foolish.  I don’t know when it finally occurred to me that being cheap was expensive, wasteful, and just plain irritating.

It’s expensive because even though I can go to Wal-mart and buy 487 tank tops for $1.50, they only last through one or two washings before they’re so misshapen that the Munchkins couldn’t wear them.  But, paying a few dollars more, and I have tank tops that have lasted me through 4 or 5 summers now.  The material has held up, they’ve held their shape.  In the long run, cheaper.

I hate waste and trash.  I try to reduce-reuse-recycle whenever I can.  But cheap things tend to wear out faster than the more expensive.  Cheap things end up in the landfill, creating more waste.  We have a Dyson vacuum we paid over $500 for about 12 years ago.  We still have that vacuum.  Sure, we’ve had to do a few repairs, but the vacuum is built to be repaired when something’s broken.  I only have to throw out a part of the vacuum rather than the whole thing.

And cheap is plain irritating because I don’t like to shop.  So the more I buy cheap stuff, the more I have to shop.  The caveat to this is when I buy vintage or second-hand things, they can be less expensive sometimes, but just as good quality-wise.  I try to buy local or American-made when it’s feasible.  It might be more expensive, but I look at it as an investment into the environment and into the future.

“Quality questions create a quality life. Successful people ask better questions, and as a result, they get better answers.”
-Anthony Robbins

One comment on “Q is for Quality

  1. grazona says:

    I agree! I think this is something you learn the hard way. I know I’ve had similar experiences to yours.

Leave a Reply

