Happy Poem in Your Pocket Day!

Tomorrow, April 24th, is National Poem in Your Pocket Day.  The idea is to have a poem in your pocket (duh!) that you share with others during the day.  I think high school can ruin poetry appreciation with all the picking apart and analyzing language.  I say that if you like it, it’s good.  And there doesn’t need to be much more to it than that.

Here’s a link to Poets.org in case you’d like to find something different.  Or search for your favorite poet online, like Emily Dickenson or Robert Frost.

One of my favorite poets is William Wordsworth, from the 18th century.  I’ve included a link to Ode, my all time favorite poem, at over 200 lines long.

Here’s another of my favorites:

Dust if You Must

-Author Unknown

Dust if you must, but wouldn’t it be better
To paint a picture, or write a letter,
Bake a cake, or plant a seed;
Ponder the difference between want and need?

Dust if you must, but there’s not much time,
With rivers to swim, and mountains to climb;
Music to hear, and books to read;
Friends to cherish, and life to lead.

Dust if you must, but the world’s out there
With the sun in your eyes, and the wind in your hair;
A flutter of snow, a shower of rain,
This day will not come around again.

Dust if you must, but bear in mind,
Old age will come and it’s not kind.
And when you go (and go you must)
You, yourself, will make more dust.

 

One comment on “Happy Poem in Your Pocket Day!

  1. cjswriting says:

    I am so enjoying National Poetry month this year. The Love Book App on my iPhone made me start loving poetry. Poems are read by some great British actors/actresses, including my personal favorite, Tom Hiddleston, and I have been hooked ever since. I posted D is for Desiderata where I talked about my new love of poetry. Then also N for National Poetry Month. My new favorite is from the iF book poetry app – also read by Tom- but so fantastic, WH Auden’s As I Walked Out One Evening. Love it!

    Have a happy A to Z month! Will see you around. 🙂

Leave a Reply

