A Movie-Watching Experience

Alamo Drafthouse, Lakeline

Alamo Drafthouse, Lakeline

I’ve never been all that fond of watching movies in the theater.  They’re crowded and loud.  If I have to go to the bathroom, I can’t pause it.  And worst of all, there are people disrupting the movie.  Now, at home, I’m the annoying person who talks all through the movie, points out things that are implausible, predicts what’s going to happen next, or yells at the stupid woman who opens the door to see why there’s a creepy noise outside when she knows there’s a murderer on the loose.  But that’s at home.  And my husband shouldn’t have married me if he didn’t want to put up with it.

But in the theater, there are strangers.  They didn’t sign on for a life sentence with me.  So I’m quiet and polite, and I prefer if others are too.  Sometimes they are, and sometimes they aren’t.  I’ll never forgive the parent who brought their small children to a midnight showing of the Omen (Yes, true story), and the kid was playing a gameboy or something and laughed when the guy got hanged, dispelling any tension the movie may have had.  Grr.

At the Alamo Drafthouse, they have rules.  Strict rules.  Including: don’t take your cell phone out for any reason once the movie has started.  If you talk, you get warned, and then thrown out.  If you’re thrown out, you won’t be welcome back.  Kids are welcome only at certain movie showings.  They have other movies that are sing-alongs or quote-alongs.  Batman (1987) is one such movie that’s coming up there.  Who doesn’t feel compelled to say “Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moonlight?” at the appropriate time?

We went to see Gone Girl there last night, and the movie was pretty good, but what I enjoyed more was the experience.  The pre-show is movie specific, and they had old clips from Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Wells of “other gone girls.”  It was a lot of fun, not like those generic pre-shows that play at Harkins or AMC Theaters.  We ordered food, and not only did they have vegetarian options (like a veggie burger), but the food was really, really good.  The popcorn and drinks were bottomless, served in real dishes, and the popcorn had real butter.  I had a great time because of the whole experience, and the husband and I have never gone to many theater movies (maybe 2-3 a year), but I have a feeling we’ll be going to this one a lot.

On a not completely unrelated note, I’ve started #100daysofhappy.  If you don’t know what this is, check out the link.  It’s a challenge to be happy about something for 100 days in a row and share a picture of something that makes you happy.  Why not, right?  I shared the above picture for mine.  Follow me on Twitter, and you can follow my 100 Days of Happy journey.

One comment on “A Movie-Watching Experience

  1. I love going to the cinema, but it’s so expensive now. Orange Wednesday makes it better, but I always forget to go.

Leave a Reply

