Feel Good Friday

Why is it that whenever I say I don’t watch the news, whoever I’m talking to feels the need to update me on current events?  I have a purpose in not watching the news; I believe in putting my attention on what I want to see more of, which is why I share good news.

Welcome to Feel Good Friday, where I share positive news stories.

"Get off the computer and pet me!" Photo Credit: Doree Weller

“Get off the computer and pet me!”
Photo Credit: Doree Weller

109 year old man, the oldest man in Australia, knits sweaters to help injured penguins.  Click the link.  You have to see the pictures of the penguins in their sweaters.  You’ll say “awwwww!”

A woman gets to hear her deceased son’s heart in a woman’s chest 20 years later.  The mother donated her son’s organs, and when the recipient contacted her to thank her, it was an emotional moment for both of them.  The mother said she feels like she’s gained a daughter.  Sometimes, beautiful things come from loss.

Teenage boy tells mom to pull over so he can shovel an elderly man’s driveway.  The teen said that when he saw the man in the walker struggling, he knew he had to help him.  He said in the article that anyone would have done the same thing… but I don’t think so.  I’m glad he did though.

7-year-old boy wears a superhero cape as he passes out food and water to homeless people in Detroit.  He says it makes him feel good to help others.  Other community organizations, like the Boy Scouts, have gotten involved.  It just shows that one person can make a difference.

Soul Pancake has couples (and one pair of strangers) look into one another’s eyes for 4 minutes to see what happens.  An experiment has previously showed that it increases the level of intimacy people experience.  I can’t sum up the results, so take a look at the video.  It’s interesting, and may make you think about your own relationships.

That’s it for this week’s Feel Good Friday.  Help me be the change.  If you liked one of these articles or like what I’m doing here, let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

