B is for Books

For the Blogging A to Z Challenge this month, I’m going to post a different letter of the alphabet every day.  I’m trying to stick to the theme of “Things I Love.”

I’m not sure I could live without books.  Some people might think that’s an exaggeration, but books feed my soul in the same way that food feeds my body.

The first book I remember loving was Orange Oliver: The kitten who wore glasses, by Robert Lasson.

th-2

Such a great book!

 

I’ve always rooted for the underdog, and this book was no exception.  Poor Oliver couldn’t see anything, and so he got picked on.  Plus, he was different, and the book appealed to me because I was always a little different too.

There were many other books as time went on, and my mom took me to the library, where I checked out stacks of books that I couldn’t see over when I carried them.  I checked my favorite books out over and over.  Once I got an adult library card, they wouldn’t let me check out kids’ books anymore.  (This was before everyone was reading young adult fiction.)  I didn’t understand it, because I still loved the same books I’d read before.  I just wanted to read new ones too.

Reading has always been a process of discovery for me.  I’m transported elsewhere, living someone else’s life, being someone else for at least a little while.  A good book is like an old friend, and re-reading it is like visiting.  As I grow and change, my understanding and relationship with the old books grow and change as well.  But as with any good and faithful friend, I like to think that we can grow together.  The book doesn’t change, but it won’t be insulted if my interpretation of it does.

I take books everywhere with me, and I read anything I think I might like.  Classics sit side by side on my shelves with romance novels and young adult novels.  Science fiction sits next to books I read as a child.  I love anything with a good story, and I’m not ashamed to defend low-brow books or condemn high-brow ones.

A partial view of my bookshelves Photo Credit: Doree Weller

A partial view of my bookshelves
Photo Credit: Doree Weller

I think that the books you read say a lot about you as a person.  My book choices say that I’m not afraid to be myself, and I don’t pigeonhole myself into any one category.  I care more about what’s inside than I do about what others think.  Most of all, they say I love to read.

What books do you have a life-long love affair or friendship with?  What do your book choices say about you?

 

2 comments on “B is for Books

  1. Great choice for B! I refer to myself as a book hoarder. I just love having them around, having lots of choices when it comes time to read, and I thoroughly enjoy going out to look for new books. We have one particular bookshelf in our living room that holds our favorites, the books we want on display so to speak. That’s where I have all my David Seders books (including my signed copies) and books by people I know or signed copies I have. I also have a copy of what I consider my favorite books there as well. I like it when we have visitors who are checking out our bookshelf so we can talk about the titles that are there!

Leave a Reply

