H is for History

For this month’s A to Z Challenge, I’m focusing on things I love.

Turtle on a Swing, Austin TX Photo Credit: Doree Weller

Turtle on a Swing, Austin TX
Photo Credit: Doree Weller

When I was a kid, I hated history. I thought it was the most boring thing imaginable, and in some ways, I still do.

Most of the time, when someone talks about history, they’re talking about what happened. I know it’s important, but I don’t care. I want to know about the people it happened to, what they thought about it, how they lived before, and how whatever event changed them.

On a most basic level, history is about the people, but it often doesn’t seem that way. Sometimes it seems like the stories about people get lost behind the events. And really, what do the events really matter, except how they affect the people involved?

My brother in law LOVES history. I mean, loves it the way I love Dean Koontz books. When the husband and I get together with the in-laws, we tend to go see something history related. Last visit, we went to the Alamo and the Lyndon Baines Johnson Library. What could have been horribly boring for me was actually interesting, because I focused on what interests me: the people, and how those events affected them.

It never made sense to me that I disliked history. After all, as my post last week indicated, I love antiques. But the reason I love antiques is because those things meant something to someone at one time. I wish I had understood when I was younger why history bored me, and how I could have better learned it.

It’s never too late though. I’m learning new things everyday.

Is there a subject you used to hate that you’ve grown to like or understand better as you’ve gotten older?

8 comments on “H is for History

  1. lovetotrav says:

    My father was a historian; a prof who taught Canadian history at university. I hated being dragged to every fort across the country. And yes, I concluded I hated history too. Also like you, I loved antiques. My mom had many and the people part of it is what interested me as well. I guess switching history to people focus is the answer. I will need to as I venture off to a very historical country, Egypt to live! I will take your advice. Cheryl

    • doreeweller says:

      I hope it works out for you; let me know. I think sometimes it’s hard to like when we have history jammed down our throats at an early age. Egypt is a very interesting country, so I hope you find things you enjoy.

  2. lucciagray says:

    I always loved history because I imagined real people living and doing the things we were taught about. Now I write historical fiction 🙂

    • doreeweller says:

      I’m enjoying reading historical fiction more and more as I get older. I hope a lot of it’s fairly accurate, because I like the feeling of “learning” while I’m reading some interesting fiction.

  3. Debs says:

    Doree, I’m with you. For me, history doesn’t come alive until the personal aspects is known. Its just a shame that it can’t be taught that way. The only teacher I had who did, had a glass who hung off her every word, but we completed only a fraction of the syllabus. Still loved the experience though and happily studied up the facts & figures of the rest independently.

    • doreeweller says:

      It would take longer to be taught that way, but maybe those of us who are less enthused by history would actually remember some of it! Thanks for stopping by.

  4. Misha says:

    I’m weird like that. I like learning new things all over, no matter what it’s about.

Leave a Reply

