What I’m Reading

Olive Kitteredge by Elizabeth Strout– This book was chosen by a friend, and it’s an interesting premise… a novel told in short stories.  The novel is about Olive Kitteredge, but its sometimes told from other people’s points of view.  Sometimes the story is about someone else, and Olive only plays a small role.  As I read this book, I didn’t always like Olive, but I enjoyed getting a glimpse into different aspects of a complicated person.  It’s definitely worth borrowing.

Watchers by Dean Koontz-I’ve read this book so many times that I’ve lost count.  I discovered it when I was 12, and it’s been by favorite book ever since.  My relationship with this book has changed over the years.  When I was 12, I thought it was as perfect as a book could get, but as I’ve grown older (and maybe wiser), I’ve discovered that’s it’s not as perfect as I thought.  That’s okay; I love it unconditionally.  It’s like an old friend, and a visit with it never fails to cheer me up.  If you’ve never read this book, I absolutely recommend you remedy that ASAP.

Devoted in Death by JD Robb– This is book 41 of the In Death series.  First off, I’m in awe of Nora Roberts (JD Robb is her pseudonym for this series) for being able to write a 41 book series (and counting).  I love the characters, the romance, the crime drama.  It’s always fun and keeps me breathlessly turning pages.  Though all the In Death books are great, this is one of my favorites.

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante-  This book came highly recommended by friends in my book club.  They tend to like more literary fiction than I do, but it sounded interesting enough to try.  It took me a long time to get into.  It’s a book about two girls and their relationship from childhood until they’re about 17.  As with many works of more general fiction, I felt like nothing happened for a long time.  The language was beautiful and the characters were interesting, but I did find myself wondering when something interesting would happen.  After awhile though, I did get involved in the story of these girls’ lives, and I really enjoyed it.  I came into it knowing it was a series.  About halfway through, I didn’t think I’d bother with the other books, but now that I finished the first one, I have to read the others.

If you’ve read any of these, what did you think of them?

Leave a Reply

