Abandoned Blog Posts

I have 165 drafts of blog posts in various states.  Some of them have been started and then abandoned.  Some are finished, but I just never hit the publish button.

I’m not sure why I do that.  I have an idea, I go in, start it, and then don’t get back to it.  I feel like this says something about me.

For one thing, I don’t always have a clear idea of what I want to say when I sit down to write.  I have an idea, I scribble a few things, and then I realize that I don’t have a point.  Instead of trying to figure it out, I just hit “save” and say that I’ll come back to it later.  Sometimes I do.  But mostly, I don’t.

Sometimes I’m just writing notes.  Because I don’t have a good method of making notes that I come back to, I hit save, and end up with blogs I’ve never finished.

Sometimes I write a blog post completely, but chicken out of publishing it.  Either because it’s too personal, or because it’s too controversial.  I don’t mind saying controversial things, but I prefer to say them in person, where if I inadvertently insult someone, I can fix it.  For those of you who know me, let me clarify: I don’t mind insulting people on purpose, but I hate to do it accidentally.

So, what’s the point of this blog post?  No idea.  Not sure if I have a point.  But I’m publishing it anyway because I don’t want to add to my unfinished drafts.

I started it, so I’ll finish it.

Today, anyway.

 

7 comments on “Abandoned Blog Posts

  1. You aren’t the only one – I have about 70 drafts and I should just go through and delete 90% of them.

    • doreeweller says:

      I have trouble deleting anything I’ve ever written. If it’s bad, I want to see how much I’ve improved, and if it’s good, well… I don’t want to delete anything good!

  2. tvonzalez says:

    Popped by from the Theme Reveal. You aren’t the only one but I don’t have a lot in draft. I will compose a post, decide it is too revealing or too controversial and then delete it.

  3. Wow. I thought I was the only one who had dozens of drafts saved!

  4. Wow, I thought I was the only one with dozens of saved drafts!

Leave a Reply

