X is for Crossover books

IMG_5580I don’t have a specific book for “X.”  I tried, but I got nothin’.

So instead of a specific book, I’m going to talk about crossover books.

When I was a kid, people either read kid books (which included young adult) or grown up books.  Then, along came Harry Potter, which everyone read.  After Harry Potter was Twilight, and suddenly the barrier on YA was blasted wide open.  Now it’s a legit genre for adults, and everyone is reading it.

I’ve never stopped reading young adult books and even some middle grade books.  If they’re well-written, I don’t see any problem with my enjoying them.

I’ve had people ask me why I was reading a particular book, “Isn’t that a kids’ book?” and my answer is always, “Because I like it.”

Since everyone started reading young adult books (or admitting they do), it does mean I have more people with whom I can discuss these books.

I think that genre is becoming less important with books than having them be interesting with characters people can connect to.  They also must have at least a little magic.

Many of the books I’ve written about during this challenge are books that I loved as a kid and still love as an adult.  Special mention of several other books that I won’t be talking about during this challenge, but have also managed to stick with me: Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls, Watership Down by Richard Adams, Pollyanna by Eleanor H. Porter, anything by LJ Smith, Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, and Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte.

Are there any books from childhood/ teenage years that you still read?

12 comments on “X is for Crossover books

  1. Janet Miles says:

    Little Women and Nancy Drew! I think I have to re-read Pride and Prejudice too. Thanks!

  2. I’ve saved quite a few of the books I read as a kid, but rarely read them again. I purchased Summer of ’42 when I was 14 or 15 and read it every few years.

  3. djinnia says:

    omg! you’re a lj smith fan! love her psychic trilogy, which i can’t think of the name of at this precise moment. i have quite a few books from my childhood. grimm fairytales and some golden books that i still love like monster at the end of this book.

  4. eschudel says:

    Definitely. The Narnia books are the first that come to mind, and Harry Potter (although I first read those as a adult, so they probably don’t count…)

  5. I sometimes read what my 13 year old grandson reads just so I can help him with his homework. Last one was I am Malala.

  6. Cynthia says:

    My blogging theme this month was about books I read when I was younger. I still enjoy reading kidlit/YA and make no apologies for it!

Leave a Reply

