Why I Didn’t End Up Doing a Book Challenge This Year

img_7065In 2015, I did the reading challenge, and I enjoyed it.  There was a different theme every month, and I did about 10 months out of 12.  In 2016, I started the Read Harder challenge, and ticked a couple categories off.

And then I lost interest.

I ended up reading a book I didn’t like.  I tried and tried and tried to get through it, and I couldn’t.  As of this writing, I haven’t finished it, though I still want to.  It wasn’t that I hated the book; it was more that it had no discernible plot.

After putting that book aside, I thought about going back to the Read Harder challenge, but I’d lost my taste for it.  I realized that I have a lot of book lists I’m working on.  I have a classics list I’m working my way through, a book club, and a friend and I who choose books together.  That’s not including the fact that I read a lot of YA books to stay current on what’s being published (since I write YA) and reading books for fun.

While I liked the idea of the Read Harder challenge, in the end it just didn’t work for me.  I may look at the challenge for 2017, and if I like it, I’ll give it a try.  Or maybe I’ll look for a challenge that doesn’t have as many books on it, or fits with my tastes a little better.

I think I lost sight of the fact that the challenge was meant to be a game instead of a task. It became work, rather than a scavenger hunt. I love books that make me think or books that make me see the world differently. I love discovering books I wouldn’t have read on my own. But I don’t like taking it all to seriously, and that’s what I did for a little while.

What do you think of book challenges? Are you planning to join one for 2017?

3 comments on “Why I Didn’t End Up Doing a Book Challenge This Year

  1. scr4pl80 says:

    I have been doing the one put out by Pop Sugar for the last two years. I wasn’t able to get through the whole thing but I like trying to find books from different categories because if I don’t, I tend to read just mysteries all the time. This year I saw an idea in one of the blogs I follow about an ABC reading challenge, using the first letter of the book title to cover the alphabet. I may try that.

    • doreeweller says:

      Hmm, I took a look at the one for 2016, and that seems more up my alley. I’ll check it out when they have the one listed for 2017… thanks for pointing me in their direction.

  2. A book challenge sounds fun, I’ve never tried it. Would help with making reading selections for my book club. 🙂

Leave a Reply

