Why I’ve Started Giving Books As Gifts

I’ve always been a lousy gift giver. I want to give great gifts, but my brain mostly doesn’t work that way. My sister-in-law is one of those talented people who always seems to know the perfect gift. Over the years, she’s gotten me a subscription to Writer’s Digest, a subscription to the Book of the Month Club, and Alice In Wonderland pajamas. And this clock:

screen-shot-2017-01-02-at-9-09-13-pm

Every once in awhile, I’ll be out somewhere and spot the perfect thing. But mostly… not.

A few years ago, I had an inspiration to start requesting other people’s favorite books as gifts. It seemed like a fun idea, and I liked seeing what other people picked. Then I realized that one thing I know pretty well is books. People come to me for recommendations, and since I read across many genres, I’m usually pretty good at figuring out what others will like.

As adults, most of us no longer want to receive more stuff. Sticking to consumables just makes sense to me, but does anyone really want to receive more food at Christmas?

Enter books. They’re personal gifts that never expire. They’re decorative. They’re fun. And best of all, they’re thoughtful gifts that I can actually give. It’s fun to think about what each person on my shopping list might like.

What’s the best gift you’ve given or received?

2 comments on “Why I’ve Started Giving Books As Gifts

  1. scr4pl80 says:

    Love getting books as gifts! I usually give my daughters gift cards to Barnes and Noble because half the fun is going to the bookstore! My husband did a really fun thing this year. He was visiting his mom in Oregon and they had a bookstore that sold books wrapped in brown paper with just a hint about what the book was about written on it. He got me one that was a “tragic tale of two sisters.” It turned out to be a new Emily Giffin book, First Comes Love. The books are donated to this bookstore and are books that have not been published yet. The bookstore asks for a donation in payment. Excellent idea I think. Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

