10 Books To Read Instead of Watching the Super Bowl

Not gonna lie… I’m not a sports fan. I used to enjoy playing dodgeball, and I love losing at miniature golf. My dogs have no criticism of my tennis ball throwing skills (mostly because I use the Chuck-it… shhh!). But that’s about it. I married a man who wasn’t into sports so that I’d never have to be tortured like that. Though I do see tons of tasty looking Super Bowl food coming through my newsfeed… but even that’s not enough to tempt me. If you’re like me, here’s some suggestions on what to read instead.

  1. If you want to read something involving football: The Blind Side: Evolution of a Game, by Michael Lewis. This book is strongly character driven. It has some football in it, but not so much that someone like me got bored by it. It was a fast read.
  2. If you want something with that competitive spirit, that’s way better than football: The Hunger Games, by Suzanne Collins. Even if there’s anyone out there who hasn’t read this, it’s time. I loved all the characters, especially Katniss, of course. Even though she wasn’t always likable, she was interesting, and she had times where she was downright lovable. Reading about this life or death match is way more interesting than watching a ball go back and forth across the screen.
  3. If you want something about warring factions, that’s no game: This Savage Song, by Victoria Schwab. This is YA, and was one of my favorite books last year. In a city overrun by monsters, the children of two opposing factions meet and start to question what they’ve been told. The creatures were new and interesting, and every time I thought I knew what was going to happen, I turned out to be wrong. But be warned… there’s a sequel that’s not coming out until later this year. It doesn’t end on a cliffhanger or anything, but there’s definitely more to the story.
  4. If you want a book that will counter all the testosterone in the air: The Sun is Also a Star, by Nicola Yoon. It’s a love story about two teenagers meeting on a pivotal day in their lives. There are multiple points of view in this book  from people who aren’t main characters, and it’s interesting to see how chance interactions might affect the people around us. You might need tissues. (Really, anything by Nicola Yoon will work here.)
  5. If you want a book that’s best consumed with junk food: Food: A Love Story, by Jim Gaffigan. Parts of this were laugh out loud funny. I listened to the audiobook version, which probably made it better. But if you have a sense of humor, maybe reading it would work just as well for you.
  6. If you want a book that will make you cheer out loud: Ready, Player One, by Ernest Cline. In a futuristic society, people can compete within a virtual reality world to win control of a fortune, and the virtual world. The main characters are all underdogs, and I love underdogs. Even if you don’t like science fiction, you might still enjoy this one. It’s not heavy at all, and it’s a fast, thrilling read.
  7. If you want a book that will make your adrenaline pump: You, by Caroline Kepnes. It’s the story about a stalker, and the woman he hunts through her social media accounts. It’s scary because it could happen to anyone. In fact, it could be happening to you right now.
  8. If you want a book that’s all about not doing what everyone else is: Fight Club, by Chuck Palahaniuk. I saw the movie first, and ran right out and got the book. There’s action! Philosophy! Crazy people! Seriously, if you’ve only seen the movie, read the book.
  9. If you want something short that you can probably finish by the time the game is over: The Truth About Alice by Jennifer Mathieu. This is another YA book, about a girl who was at a party, and the subsequent rumors that follow her. It’s told from multiple points of view, people saying what they’ve been told and assume about Alice. It reminded me that whenever I hear a story, it’s only part of the truth. And it’s loosely football themed, since one of the characters is a high school football player.
  10. If you want something scarier than grown men chasing one another around a field: Doctor Sleep, by Stephen King. This is the sequel to The Shining. I had no idea this was even a thing, but it’s a few years old. I was skeptical that it would be any good, but it really is. You won’t finish it by the end of the game, but who cares?

These are my suggestions. Are there any you’d add?

2 comments on “10 Books To Read Instead of Watching the Super Bowl

  1. I do watch the Super Bowl, but only for the commercials.

Leave a Reply

