Do I Have That Book?

img_7777

Photo of my in books in the process of being shelved… with bonus cat.

I was at Goodwill recently, and I was looking through books. I saw a copy of The Bone Collector, by Jeffery Deaver. I’ve wanted to read it, so I picked it up, along with a *few* other books.

Then I thought, “I need to check my Sort It app before I buy these.” Sure enough, I already own the Bone Collector.

As a book hoarder… ahem… collector, I’ve lost track of what’s in my library. Some books, that I’ve read approximately eleventy-million times, aren’t a problem to remember. Others, that I either haven’t read, or read a long time ago, or maybe can’t remember if I got it from the library or not, are a little more challenging.

A few years ago, I found this amazing app for my phone called Sort It, and the heavens opened up and rained gold on me. Maybe not quite that dramatic, but it feels pretty close sometimes. I’m working on culling my collection to get rid of some books, but it’s still going to take time. In case you’re wondering about my rules for keeping books or sending them to Half-Price Books, you can read them here.

How do you keep track of what books you own? Is this a problem for you?

2 comments on “Do I Have That Book?

  1. scr4pl80 says:

    Yikes! Fortunately I don’t have that many. Scrapbook supplies, that’s a different story!

  2. I have a lot of books, but I don’t think I’ve ever bought one I already had… unless I had a specific reason for wanting more than one copy in my collection.

Leave a Reply

