B is for Bigwig

IMG_8307.JPGHello, and welcome to Blogging A to Z! Thanks for stopping by.

My theme this month is 26 of the Best Characters in Fiction.

I love the book Watership Down, by Richard Adams, about a group of rabbits who travels from their home when one rabbit prophecies a disaster.

One of the characters I’ve always been most interested in is Bigwig. Of all the characters, he has what I believe is the biggest character arc.

He goes along with the main characters, Hazel and Fiver, partly because he believes in the prophecy, but partly to escape what he believes is unfairness and favoritism. At first, he’s kind of a bully at times, short-tempered and sharp-tongued. For him, life is black and white.

As the story progresses, he’s shown to be brave and kind. He might bully someone who annoys him, but he also protects the weaker. He complains at times, but he does the job. He’s honest, acknowledging when someone helps him, but his honesty also means that he says things that are hurtful at time.

There’s a scene early on in the book where he’s hurt and almost dies. I cringe every time this scene happens (and I’ve read this book many times), and wonder how different the book would have been without him. I can’t even imagine it.

That’s a good character.

Who’s your favorite character in Watership Down? And if you haven’t read it, what are you waiting for?

7 comments on “B is for Bigwig

  1. scr4pl80 says:

    I haven’t read this book yet but am adding it to my list right now!

  2. clicksclan says:

    I remember being traumatised by the film as a child but read the book for the first time about four years ago (it was during my first round of IVF and I was really slow reading it, until I got rushed into hospital with complications and had nothing to do but read, then I read it very quickly).

    Bigwig is one of my favourite characters too.

    Have you read The Plague Dogs by the same author? Now that’s a really sad one!

    Cait @ Click’s Clan

    • doreeweller says:

      I’ve never seen the movie, but I feel like I should, since so many people say that! I’ve never read anything else by Richard Adams. I’m afraid that anything else won’t be as good.

  3. I’ve been meaning to read that book for years! Never have.

  4. I haven’t read it, but I’m interested in that scene that you say makes you cringe…It’s so cool you’ve got this theme. I am posting about favorite characters, too, with a bit of a twist, one of these days. Just one post, really.

    Thanks for dropping by my blog and reading my B post: “How do you personally deal with writer’s block?”

  5. Doree, I’m not familiar with this story but I like the main character you described. Thanks for visiting yesterday’s Art Sketching Through the Alphabet “B” (for boys) post and I apologize for the delayed visit. My schedule was thrown for a loop with the break in routine to the doctor’s yesterday. Have a good day and happy a2zing! 😉

Leave a Reply

