I is for Idgie

Hello, and welcome to Blogging A to Z 2017! Thanks for stopping by. Fellow A to Z-ers, please make sure to leave a link to your blog in the comments.

My theme this month is 26 of the Best Characters in Fiction.

IMG_8359.JPGI caught Fried Green Tomatoes on TV when I was a teenager. I watched it, probably because I loved Mary Stuart Masterson. It was one of my first encounters with a frame story. Evelyn starts visiting with Ninny, and Ninny tells the story of Idgie and Ruth. I’m not sure when I found out that it was actually a book: Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistlestop Cafe, by Fannie Flagg, but it stayed on my TBR for a few years.

When I finally read it, I fell in love with the characters all over again. They were even better (of course) than the characters in the movie. Idgie was a rebel, determined to do her own thing, even when it might have been easier to be more accommodating.

Idgie is never afraid to fight for the people she loves. Though Evelyn never meets her, Idgie becomes a role model to her, and through the stories she hears, Evelyn learns to become more assertive and happier in her life.

The movie was good, but the book was better. There are some things left out of the movie. If you haven’t read it yet, it’s a pretty quick read. In fact, writing this post makes me want to go visit Idgie right now.

Have you read the book or seen this movie? Thoughts?

8 comments on “I is for Idgie

  1. messymimi says:

    While i’ve seen the movie and loved it, i haven’t read the book, so i need to get to the library and find a copy. Tried leaving a link to my blog in my first comment, but it did not publish. WordPress blogs will not let me leave links for some reason.

  2. Pat Holloway says:

    Loved the movie, I haven’t read the book but now I want too. I like stories written by Fannie Flagg, they are quick, engaging reads.

  3. scr4pl80 says:

    I don’t think I’ve seen this, although I like the characters in the movie. I’ll have to put it on my list!
    Janet
    I Am..I Said

  4. Saw the movie and loved ot! Never knew Fannie Flag wrote it. Now I’ll have to go back and read the book. 😉
    Perspectives at Life & Faith in Caneyhead

  5. DeeDee says:

    I like Idgie already. She sounds like a woman that every woman can at some level associate to 🙂

    A Peice Of My Life

Leave a Reply

