K is for Kellen

Hello, and welcome to Blogging A to Z 2017! Thanks for stopping by. Fellow A to Z-ers, please make sure to leave a link to your blog in the comments.

My theme this month is 26 of the Best Characters in Fiction.

Version 2All the Ugly and Wonderful Things, by Bryn Greenwood, is in my Top 5 list of all time favorite books. It was amazing. I started it in the evening and ended up staying up until 2:30 a.m. to finish it. Then I started re-reading it the next day. Then I passed it around to my book club, and when I got it back, I read it again.

That being said, this book isn’t for everyone. It’s polarizing, either earning 1 star or 5 stars on Goodreads. It’s not the writing that’s the problem; it’s the subject matter.

If you’re sensitive to certain topics, and interested in reading the book, read the reviews, and they’ll tell you what it’s about. If you want an amazing experience, just read the book.

Wavy is the main character of this book, and the story starts when she’s 5. Her parents are drug addicts, and the story is told from multiple points of view. People see all kinds of different things when they see Wavy, but mostly they see a problem child who refuses to eat but then steals food out of the trash, and doesn’t speak.

No one really loves Wavy. One night, when she’s 8, Kellen, who works for her father, wipes out on his motorcycle right in front of her. She gets him help. From that first encounter, they take care of one another.

When Kellen heals from his accident, he goes back looking for her. He cleans up her house while her mother sleeps. He makes sure she gets to school. And he communicates with her without making her speak. He’s the first person who really sees her.

Yet Kellen has flaws. He’s not much more than a boy himself. He runs drugs for Wavy’s father, and gets into bar fights. He’s known for his brutal temper.

If you’ve been following along with me, you’ll know I love flawed characters. The reason I love them is that they’re real people, and they make me think. I love books with moral dilemmas and no easy answers. Life is shades of gray, and there’s very little that’s black and white. I love books that can make me see the world through new eyes. That doesn’t mean that I always change my mind about a topic, but I believe that in order to have a fully formed opinion, I have to know as much about a topic as I can.

This book definitely made me see the world a little differently.

Do you have any books that made you see the world differently or question assumptions you held?

5 comments on “K is for Kellen

  1. messymimi says:

    Flawed characters are the most true to life, since they are most like us and people we know. As for leaving a hyperlink, yes, i tried, it doesn’t work. WordPress doesn’t like my blogspot links, never has. Weird, i know.

  2. Anne M Bray says:

    This one sounds right up my alley, and your synopsis made me want to read more!.
    Adding it to my “To Read” list STAT!

    I’m doing two A-Zs, both visual.
    Shoes: http://repeatsamb.blogspot.com/2017/04/atozchallenge-m-vogmalala-ifjm2017.html
    Trucks: https://annembray.wordpress.com/2017/04/15/atozchallenge-m/

  3. […] A post that mentions a book you’ve read and reviewed. that makes you want to read it. K is for Kellen […]

Leave a Reply

