W is for Wanderer/ Wanda

Hello, and welcome to Blogging A to Z 2017! Thanks for stopping by. Fellow A to Z-ers, please make sure to leave a link to your blog in the comments.

My theme this month is 26 of the Best Characters in Fiction.

IMG_8465.JPGWanderer, later called Wanda, is the main character of The Host by Stephanie Meyer. Yes, that Stephanie Meyer.

It’s a light science fiction book about a race of parasites that go to various planets and inhabit the host species. The parasites are motivated by altruism. On Earth, they felt that humans were destroying the planet, and that they could do better.

These parasites (they call themselves “souls,” but they fit the definition of parasites) take over human bodies, and the consciousness of the human vessel is supposed to vanish. This is just what they do on all the planets they inhabit, and they don’t think anything negative about it.

Wanderer inhabits the body of Melanie, but Melanie won’t give up her consciousness. Wanderer eventually goes in search of Melanie’s brother and her boyfriend, who are living in a small, hidden camp of human survivors.

At first, the humans are understandably vicious to Wanderer. She doesn’t tell them that she and Melanie are still sharing the body because she figures they wouldn’t believe her.

But as time goes on, Wanderer is accepted into the group of humans. No matter what happens to her, she’s kind and gentle. Eventually, she realizes that maybe the humans have a right to be so angry.

She’s called Wanderer because she’s lived on many planets, never finding one that was home, and never settling down. But she grows to love Earth and her human family.

I love Wanderer because she’s relentlessly positive. She believes the best about people, is hard working, loving, and best of all… isn’t afraid to change her mind.

The movie was fine, but nowhere near as good as the book. This is one of those cases where they really couldn’t have matched it, because part of what made it so great was the internal arguments between Melanie and Wanderer.

So, have you read it or seen the movie?

 

9 comments on “W is for Wanderer/ Wanda

  1. I’ve thought about reading this book because the synopsis sounds interesting. I haven’t read it yet because I kinda hated Twilight.

    • doreeweller says:

      Pretend it’s not by Stephanie Meyer. I liked Twilight, but I know it’s a bad book. The Host is actually much better, and not subject to as many of the things that made Twilight awful.

  2. Pikakshi says:

    Hey fellow book lover!
    I haven’t read or even heard about this book. Mostly I am wary of science fiction, because its really hard to imagine science stuff. But the way you described the character Wanderer and the storyline, there seems to be a sense to it..a fictional yet, beautiful sense. I’ll definitely look into the book.
    Thanks for sharing!!

    • doreeweller says:

      No problem, thanks for stopping by! This book is in the genre of what I like to call “sci-fi light.” It’s not terribly sciency, and it’s more focused on the characters and plot than how the universe works.

      • Pikakshi says:

        Yeah..I totally got that, and that’s why I thought I can give it a shot. Most scifi books go over the top of my head with their sciency stuff, know what I mean.!

  3. I’m not a big sci-fi fan, so haven’t been drawn to it. I know my cousin read and loved it, though. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Enjoy the last few days of the challenge!

  4. messymimi says:

    Haven’t heard of it, but i can see how it would be a fascinating story.

  5. Lydia Howe says:

    Oh wow. That’s a really crazy premise. I’m afraid it’s a bit too creepy for my tastes, but I do think it’s amazing when an author comes up with such a unique concept.

    Visiting from the A to Z Challenge. See my “W” post here: https://lydiahowe.com/2017/04/27/w-is-for-water-and-no-tea-atozchallenge/

Leave a Reply

