Finding the Perfect Notebook

FullSizeRender.jpg-1I kept a journal as a teenager. It was one of those tiny ones with the lock that wouldn’t actually keep anyone out. I wrote about the really important stuff that went on with me. And I wrote in it less and less as time went on, stopping sometime in my late teens/ early 20s.

A few years ago, I started keeping a journal again. I had just moved to a new state, was feeling lonely, and was going through a period in my life where I was feeling dissatisfied and couldn’t figure out why. So I grabbed an 8.5 x 11 Mead notebook and started writing things down. I don’t remember if I happened to have it laying around, or if I went out and bought it, but it was a 5 subject notebook with pockets, and it took me seven years to fill it.

When I was done with that one, I tried finding the perfect journal again, but couldn’t find anything that met my specifications. So I ended up getting another Mead notebook, and this time it only took me two years to fill.

Over time, I started using Washi tape, gluing little mementos inside, doodling in the margins. I’ve taken some inspiration from smash books in that sense. The Mead notebook works… but I feel like there’s got to be something better out there. I crave better paper and a nicer cover.

I want something spiral bound (so it folds in half), 8.5 x 11 (or thereabouts) with good paper (doesn’t matter if it’s lined or unlined). I prefer pockets, but it’s not a deal-breaker. I often write with gel pens or fountain pens, so I can’t use a thin paper that bleeds through. I bought a Yoobi notebook for another purpose, and I can only use one side of the page because of bleed-through.

Does anyone out there have notebook/ journal recommendations? If you journal, what do you use?

4 comments on “Finding the Perfect Notebook

  1. Sorry, no help forthcoming from me. I rarely write down anything nowadays, although I was inseparable from the pocket-sized notebooks that I used to call the “F.G.N.” (Famous Green Notebook), which I carried from age twenty to well into my forties. Now if I need to make a note for myself, I’ll send a text to my own email address, or even email myself from my Gmail account just to save the thought for later.

    • doreeweller says:

      I do that too for small notes, but I find that when I keep a journaling habit, I do better at staying on track with stuff I want to accomplish in general. I love the idea of pocket-sized notebooks, but for some reason, they just don’t do it for me.

  2. I always used the Mead notebooks for journaling as well! But I used a smooth ball point and bleed through was not a problem. Best bet is bookstores. Sometimes Walmart has a few. Or you can try a Google search for a spiral bound journal, but you could not feel the papers weight.

Leave a Reply

