Q is for Queens of Wonderland

Hello, and welcome to Blogging A to Z 2017! Thanks for stopping by. Fellow A to Z-ers, please make sure to leave a link to your blog in the comments.

My theme this month is 26 of the Best Characters in Fiction.

IMG_8394Did you think we’d make it through A to Z this year without an Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland post? #sorrynotsorry

There are so many delightfully crazy characters in Alice in Wonderland, but the Queen of Hearts and the White Queen have always had a special place in my heart.

The Queen of Hearts is just plain angry, shouting “off with his head!” constantly. But no one really pays attention to her, and no one actually gets beheaded. She’s like upper management, loud and annoying, but with no idea of what’s really going on. Her poor husband is quite intimidated by her.

She plays croquet with flamingos and everyone is so afraid of her that the other cards paint the roses red. (They planted a white rosebush by mistake… oops.)

The White Queen appears in Through the Looking Glass, also by Lewis Carroll. She lives backward, knowing things are going to happen before they actually do. I wouldn’t want to know my future, every move I made before I make it, but it seems to work for the White Queen. More importantly, she’s given me one of my all time favorite quotes:

“Why, sometimes I’ve believed as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”

-From Through the Looking Glass, by Lewis Carroll

I’ve always thought those were words to live by, finding impossible things to believe every day. If they happen before breakfast, even better! After all, what’s imagination for if you don’t believe in the impossible?

 

10 comments on “Q is for Queens of Wonderland

  1. One of the cruise ships we were on last year (I think), had the Alice in Wonderland theme in it’s lower theater (comedy club). I loved the oversize characters!

    DB McNicol | Oh, the places we will go! | Quartzsite & ???

  2. The Red and White Queens are two of the most memorable characters in children’s fiction, and maybe fiction in general. They manage to be mythical, absurd, but also relatable. It’s no coincidence that there are still retellings and reimaginings coming out all the time!
    operationawesome6.blogspot.com/

  3. Something about the Queen of Hearts reminds me of Donald Trump…

  4. Deb Atwood says:

    That is a fantastic quote! I don’t think I’ve read Through the Looking Glass. I’d better get on it…

  5. messymimi says:

    Alice and all the crew of Wonderland and the Looking-Glass World are among my favorites of all time.

  6. “She’s like upper management, loud and annoying, but with no idea of what’s really going on” Sums up the CFO at my last job perfectly!
    Perspectives at Life & Faith in Caneyhead

  7. I don’t think there is as much attention paid to The Looking Glass as compared to Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland so I like that your brought in the White Queen to your post. Girl Who Reads

Leave a comment